How to…be a good person

As I have grown up, one issue Iv had has been prevalent and unrelenting in my mind.
Am I a good person? The answer to this question matters to me.

At times when I have been doing my best, I have doubted myself and at times when I have been acting up, rebelling and doing everything possible to upset others, I have believed myself to be the greatest person on earth.
I wonder why that is.

So, you see, as a much older, wiser and mature student of life, I keep a set of rules, or standards if you like, which determine whether I’m being a good person or not.

Here they are.

1. Be honest.
In the past, I have told lies and fibs. I have withheld the truth from people, like the time I took a bracelet and told my mum it was a gift from a friend, just to avoid getting a slap.
Lying causes so much damage everyday and it feels horrid to blatantly lie to someone’s face. They are asking for the truth and trusting you with their hearts, so why disrespect that? It says a lot more about the liar than the victim.

2. Help everyone out.
We can help everyone, from retweeting their business details to re homing an abandoned puppy. We all have the choice to make a difference in the world and those small changes add up to big ones, so choose carefully.
Helping others also creates a strong social circle for yourself, so if you value friends and family, do something nice for them. Show your appreciation of them. Be a good person.

3. DO NOT sell yourself short.
A lot of the time these days, I see young girls and women and even guys doing the “friends with benefits” thing. Often, one side of the relationship is totally hooked on the other and is holding out for when they are really going to commit to them. This is wrong. If that person wanted a relationship with you, they’d have committed by now. They would have treated you the way you deserve to be treated.
Mind this at work too and in other aspects of your life.
Do not agree to do anything other than what makes you happy.

4. Do you.
Be yourself, because everyone else is taken.
You, yes you, have something special to give to the world and only you hold the key to that. Only you can give it to the world, no one else.
As a person, it’s easy to follow the crowd because you want to be liked and accepted. But chances are, hiding your true self away isn’t going to make you happy and life is too short to be unhappy, so be yourself and let everyone else follow you for a change.
Value your body, your talents and skills, your family and friends, the people who treat you right and the things you enjoy. That’s what life is made up of.

5. Live well.
The key to happiness and being a good person is not made up of just one ingredient.
At some point, your health is going to become important to you.
Make time for yourself, exercise, eat well, try new foods, take crazy selfies and laugh!
You could get hit by a bus tomorrow. Would you regret not spending that money when you had the chance? Would you regret not going to Italy when you had the chance?
Grab life by the horns and don’t let regrets stop you from moving forward.

Best of luck on your journey to becoming the best version of yourself that you can possibly be.

God bless

Beth

2 thoughts on “How to…be a good person

What do you think? Leave a reply

